Boracay Paradise, Philippines:

There is the kind of travel that awakens your adventurous soul and that makes you strive for adrenalinous experiences, but there is also the kind of travel where you are introduced to the charming concept of  “doing nothing”. And that was exactly the holy purpose of my stay in Boracay Philippines.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

In a world where fast is a religion, where schedules are a well established tradition and when one’s body and mind are exasperated by the frenzy of the modern era, “doing nothing” is a blessing, a gift of God, a priceless opportunity. And what a better place to let this concept blossom and given free reign than Boracay?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The island is located 315km South of Manila, the capital of the Philippines. It is accessible from Kalibo or from Caticlan airport which are located few miles away in other islands, as there is no airport in Boracay itself. The little piece of land is only 10.3 square km and is shaped as a dog bone, with a length of 7km and a smallest width of 1km.

boracay_map

Starting the 18th of April, Air Asia has launched new connection from Kuala Lumpur to Kalibo airport, which makes the trip to Boracay more accessible and less hectic, the other options being either to spend  lots of money on local flights or lots of time in countless buses. The weather is tropical, with rainy season starting in mid-June until November. The sunny season is from November up to June as the island hosts two seasons only.

Before the trip, I arranged my transfer to the island with My Boracay Guide, a tour operator that organizes activities in the island. Their logistics was perfect as they were waiting for me at the airport with a signboard and my name on it. They directed me to the bus (1h45 trip) that was to take us to the jetty, where we had to take a little boat (15min) to get to Boracay, where they would directly make the transfer to the hotel. I booked my stay at MNL Hostel, a charming little place 5min to the White Beach and 2min from Bulabog Beach.

The hostel offers countless opportunities for solo travelers to make new friends from all around the world, and frequently organizes events for people to get together. Although I made some really nice friends, my main goal was more to relax, meditate and “listen to my bones” as we say in Arabic.  While walking on the beach, you are approached by a number of locals proposing a number of activities: beach sports (jet ski, diving, para sailing…), expeditions to other islands, horse riding… You are also going to be approached by ladies proposing massage, braiding, tattoos… I got my hair braided, which I thought was really cool and really appropriate as a beach look.

The White Beach offers some really splendid sunsets. Especially when it is not too cloudy or rainy, the sky offers some picturesque landscapes that one can spend a lifetime ( or a little less) contemplating.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

4

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 My review of Boracay wouldn’t be complete without mentioning how Filipinos are incredibly friendly, helpful and outgoing people. Some of my thoughts also go to the environment. I believe that with the development of massive tourism into the island, the fauna and flora in Boracay is at a critical turning point, and lots of efforts have to be deployed to preserve the beauty of the island.

Here are my favorites from Boracay, which I think was a destination of taste. It might not be the best island in the world as it was claimed by Travel and Leisure Magazine, but it is for sure an outstanding island.

Epic Boracay: a trendy restaurant located on the white beach, offering what they call “beach cuisine”, basically big fat burgers and barbecues, but presented in a classy and refined way

exterior-view-of-epic

D’Mall: Okay, everyone was complaining about naming this place “a mall” because it is not in  a big closed structure and because there are no famous brands. But hey, haven’t you heard of the concept of open malls? Plus, when you come to an island, shopping (for franchises I mean) is the last thing you think about. I thought D’Mall was a lovely place, offering lots of little shops selling local artifacts and souvenirs (T-shirts, magnets, shells…). You can find plenty of home interior items to give your own place a little taste of Boracay Island.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Puka Beach (Shell Beach): this beach is far less frequented than the White Beach area, and gives you the wonderful and intoxicating feeling of being alone in the island.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

– Kasbah: a restaurant located on white beach side on Station 1 offering North African and Middle Easter cuisine (Yes, I enjoy traveling but I am also homesick :D)

Maymay braiding: one of my favorite Filippino, she did my hair, along with her friend Nene. She is friendly, funny, and talented. She learnt all her braiding skills from YouTube, which I think is remarkable. I believe braiding is a must while on Boracay, especially when you have non-compliant and un-cooperative hair.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Miguel
    Jun 23, 2014 @ 14:26:16

    Where to next? 🙂

    Reply

  2. Kenza
    Jun 23, 2014 @ 14:49:51

    “Listen to my bones” hahahaha

    Reply

Leave a comment