Ode to my Mother

She always says that the love of a mother for her child is unconditional. She explains further that when a child is born, there is a natural instinct engraved by God in a mother’s heart, that makes her simply love and care for her offspring. The fact is, I’m not so sure it applies to all mothers, but what I am sure of, is that it applies to my mother.

Like all relationships, ours have been filled with ups and down; at the extent I used to believe she was the person I loved and hated the most. It took me a long time, as a rebel teenager, to realize that all she wanted for me was to be the best. The best of the best.

She expects so much but is so indulgent. She acknowledges the effort more than the accomplishment. She always has the right word to encourage you and give you the will to be a better person.

She always says parenting is not something you learn in a manual guide. You learn it on the go and you make the choices which you think are best for your children. I know she took parenting very seriously. She spent hours discussing, debating, arguing, explaining to me her decisions. She may not have always taken the best ones, but she always took what she thought was the best.

Today, and until the end of times, she will remain the person I respect, admire and love the most in the whole world.

I don’t love her because we are related by blood and because she is my mother. I love her because she taught me things I couldn’t ever value. She taught me to not fit into the molds that society has designed for us. She thought me to be proud. She taught me to be different. I don’t care about anyone’s opinion but hers for the simple reason that my true reflection is in her eyes, and her eyes alone.

They say that real love is hard to find. One can spend a lifetime without getting a glimpse of it. I am happy to say that I found real love in my mother because I know no one will ever love me or care for me the way she does. When I am sick, it feels like she is the one in pain. When I am worried, my worries become hers. When I am happy, she is happier. She puts my well-being before hers. And that is the exact definition of love.

Someday, I want to make her really proud. I want her to feel all the love and respect I have for her. In this world and the other, I want her to see the fruits of her hard work. I want her to be able to say with the highest satisfaction: “Yes, this is my daughter”.

auguste-reading-to-her-daughter-1910 1908 e mother_and_child_beach_painting_contemporary_impre_figurative__figurative__a8763cb5822516386b87451cd39f4163

Leave a comment